Welcome Members News Search Committees
  You are not logged in Log in
You are here: Home » Minutes » 2011-11-17 Board Meeting

2011-11-17 Board Meeting

ICIT Board Meeting Agenda
Oakdale Ballroom Salon 1

X President: Julie Harris, IT Director (Warren) X District 1 Rep: James Nehring, IT Director (Hardin)
X Vice President: Jeff Miller, GIS Coordinator (Dubuque) X District 2 Rep: Gabe Johanns, IT Director (Franklin)
X Sec./Treas.: Alissa Julius, IT Director (Dickinson) X District 3 Rep: Patti Maymon, IT Director (Buena Vista)
X Past President: Joel Rohne, IT-GIS Director (Worth) District 4 Rep: Todd Butterbaugh, GIS (Pottawattamie)
Tech. Advocate: X District 5 Rep: Gina Erickson, IT Director (Des Moines)
X District 6 Rep: Kim Veeder, IT Director (Black Hawk)

X Education and Schools Micah VanMaanen (Sioux)
Information Security Colon Gerst (Des Moines)
X Legislative Jeff Rodda (Polk)
X Membership & Awards Joel Rohne (Worth)
X On-Line Services Scott Williams (Marshall)
X Cadastral Jason Siebrecht (Linn)
Web Technology Mitch Tollerud (Scott)
XAuditing Jeff Miller (Dubuque)
Agenda – November 17, 2011 - 12:30pm
1. Call meeting to order
Julie Harris called the meeting to order at 12:30.
2. Financial and Membership Report
Alissa Julius presented the financial and membership report. Patti Maymon made a motion to approve the financial report. Joel Rohne seconded. Motion carried. Gina Erickson made the motion to approve the past meeting minutes. James Nehring Seconded. Motion carried.
3. Committee Assignments
Scott Williams will continue as a member of the ESS committee for the next year.
4. ICIT Committee activities
a. Education & Schools
Micah VanMaanen shared about the Johnson County Tour that will take place on the Friday of fall school. Any ideas or presentation options for spring school should be shared with Micah.
b. Legislative – Policy Committee Report
Jeff Rodda spoke about what is going on with the legislature.
c. Membership & Awards
Joel Rohne reported on elections that are happening today. There is still a need for tech advocate. The tech advocate job is in the process of changing.
d. On-Line Services
Scott Williams reported he is working on the mid-year website. The process to transfer domains and should be done in the next few weeks.
e. Cadastral
Jason Siebrect had nothing to report and felt the cadastral committee could be removed from this list.
f. Web user group
There was nothing to report.
g. Information Security
There was nothing to report.
5. Committee nomination/appointment

6. Organization updates
a. ISAC Executive Board
Wayne Chizek reported January 18-19, 2012 is ISAC University. There are a lot of great sessions scheduled.
b. Data Repository
Wayne Chizek reported that they had a meeting on November 15, 2011. Plans were to go to the cloud and Scott is planning on transferring data to a database. There is a pre-beta program for ArcGIS online. Esri will work with the data repository committee and help with the functionality.
c. E-Recording Committee
Scott Williams reported that the Iowa law of redaction goes into effect December 31,2011. The vendors are working at sending back the redacted documents to the counties, however, it is not going as quickly as possible.
Paula reported the IGIC conference is in April and they are still looking for presenters.
This is not an active committee at this time.
Jason Siebrecht. reported there is a meeting scheduled in Cedar Rapids on November 30, 2011.
7. Organizational Structure
Julie Harris asked what groups should be removed or renamed at this time. Wayne
Chizek shared some ideas that he thought would help our organization. Kristi from ISAC legal counsel also spoke and is going to share some pros/cons at a future board to start more discussion on the structure of ICIT. Jeff Miller shared the next board meeting will be held on January 17, 2012. Joel Rhone reported there were liabilities that need to be thought about as an organization. The cadastral committee is no longer active. Wayne Chizek made the motion to remove the cadastral committee effective immediately. Scott Williams seconded. Motion carried. The web user group has not been active. Shaun Olson made the motion to remove the web user group effective immediately. Kirby Winter seconded. Motion carried.
8. Mid-Year Update
Micah VanMaanen reported the dates of mid-year of June 13-15. Postcards are being mailed. The contract for the Marriott is up this year. Julie Harris asked for a vote and it was unanimous that people liked having the mid-year at the West Des Moines Marriott. The contract will be put on the January agenda.
9. ICIT Tiger Team
Wayne Chizek reported on the Tiger Teams purpose and what the goal of the Tiger Team would be. Co-Star agreed to pay $1000 for the pilot program at Emmet County expenses. Paula Lemke suggested there be an application process. Kirby Winter shared that he thought a team would a great idea and that ICIT is on the right track. Jason Siebrect shared about a national GIS Core team that the ICIT Tiger Team could model after.
10. Discussion of VMware ELA
Julie Harris reported she gave a brief presentation at the fall school. She is working at gathering information what each county currently pays for vmware, what is projected for future projects and the current vendor. In order to do a ELA with VMWare $250000 of new purchases to be accepted and it is a 3 year agreement with the money being required upfront. One vendor needs to be chosen for the initial contract. Julie will be setting up a meeting with VMware in the next month . A member of ICIT is also required to manage this program.
11. Vote on By- Law changes
There was a handout that showed the changes for the by-laws. Wayne Chizek clarified all the changes for the by-laws. Kirby Winter made a motion to approve the by-law changes. Kelsey Jurik seconded. Motion carried.
12. Nominations
Joel Rohne handed out the ballots. There was only one nomination and that was Joel Rohne nominated by Mark Castensen for Technology Advocate.
13. Elections
Wayne Chizek made a motion for an uncontested ballot which included James Nehring as Vice President, Kelsi Jurik as Secretary, Alissa Julius as Treasurer with the addition of Joel Rohne as the technology advocate. District 1-Michelle Fields, District 3-Patti Maymon and District 5- Gina Ericson. Jeff Rodda seconded. Motion carried.
14. Other Business
Ryan Lafrenz reported on the Ag committee.
15. Adjournment
Patti Maymon made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 1:48pm. Scott seconded. Motion carried.

« September 2018 »
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29